In The Lonely Hour Album Lyrics – Sam Smith

401 August 28, 2023
"In the Lonely Hour" is the debut studio album by English singer and songwriter Sam Smith and released on May 26, 2014, via Capitol UK and Method Records in the United Kingdom, and on June 17, 2014, through Capitol Records America in the United States.

The album features two hit singles, "Money on My Mind" and "Stay with Me," both of which reached number one in the UK and the latter becoming a global sensation, peaking in the top ten in over 20 countries, including the US where it reached number two. The album's third hit single, "I'm Not the Only One," reached number three in the UK and number five in the US.

"In the Lonely Hour" is a powerful and emotional album that showcases Smith's vocal talents. Critics praised Smith's soulful and emotive singing, but many were critical of the songwriting. Nonetheless, the album was a commercial success worldwide, reaching the top spot on the charts in Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, Sweden, and the UK. In the UK, it was the second best-selling album of 2014, while in the US, it was the third best-selling album of the same year.

At the 57th Annual Grammy Awards, "In the Lonely Hour" was nominated for Album of the Year and Best Pop Vocal Album. It won the latter but lost the former to Beck's "Morning Phase." The album also received a nomination for Best British Album at the 2015 Brit Awards, but Ed Sheeran's "x" won the award.

A deluxe edition of the album was released, featuring five bonus tracks, including a solo acoustic version of Disclosure's "Latch," on which Smith provided guest vocals, and Naughty Boy's number-one single "La La La," also featuring Smith's vocals.

In November 2015, "In the Lonely Hour" was re-released as the "Drowning Shadows Edition." The new edition features 12 additional tracks, including a version of "Lay Me Down" featuring John Legend for Comic Relief, a cover of Whitney Houston's "How Will I Know," and a rendition of Amy Winehouse's "Love Is a Losing Game." The re-release also includes the Disclosure single "Omen," on which Smith provided vocals.

Overall, "In the Lonely Hour" is a stunning debut album that established Sam Smith as a powerful and soulful singer. Its commercial success and critical recognition paved the way for Smith's future success in the music industry. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

In The Lonely Hour album Cover

In The Lonely Hour album cover

Album Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • May 26, 2014
  • Producer(s)
  • Eg White, Fraser T. Smith, Jimmy Napes, Mojam, Steve Fitzmaurice, Two Inch Punch
  • Writer(s)
  • Eg White, Elvin Smith, Fraser T. Smith, Jeff Lynne, Jimmy Napes, Matt Prime, Sam Smith, Simon Aldred