Laurel Hell Album Lyrics – Mitski

1.6K August 28, 2023
Laurel Hell, the sixth studio album by acclaimed Japanese-American singer-songwriter Mitski, emerged on February 4, 2022, under the banner of Dead Oceans. The album, produced by Patrick Hyland, masterfully merges the genres of synth-pop, indie pop, and electronic rock. Mitski revealed that the album's title draws inspiration from a folk term associated with being ensnared within the dense thickets of laurel that flourish in the southern Appalachian Mountains.

Prior to the album's release, Mitski unveiled the lead single "Working for the Knife" on October 5, 2021 and followed up with the second single "The Only Heartbreaker" on November 9, 2021. These impactful releases were soon accompanied by two more mesmerizing singles: "Heat Lightning" and "Love Me More". The introduction of these captivating tracks was complemented by Mitski's extensive promotion of the album through the Laurel Hell Tour, captivating audiences across North America and Europe from February to November 2022.

Upon its debut, Laurel Hell garnered resounding acclaim from music critics, who hailed its profound lyrics and impeccable production. The album's commercial success was equally impressive, achieving top-ten positions in various territories including Australia, Ireland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. This accomplishment marked a significant milestone for Mitski, as it became her highest-charting record in all of these regions. Moreover, Laurel Hell secured the position of the best-selling album in the US during its release week, and remarkably, it became Dead Oceans' first album to reach the top ten of the prestigious Billboard 200 chart. Furthermore, the album triumphed as Mitski's inaugural release to claim the number one spot on the US Top Alternative and Rock Albums charts, solidifying her status as a rising force within the music industry.

Laurel Hell's profound impact on both critics and listeners alike serves as a testament to Mitski's artistic growth and innovation. With its captivating blend of musical styles and introspective songwriting, the album solidifies Mitski's position as a visionary artist pushing the boundaries of contemporary pop music. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Laurel Hell album Cover

Laurel Hell album cover

Album Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • February 4, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Patrick Hyland
  • Writer(s)
  • Dan Wilson, Mitski